Calvin and Hobbes postage stamp

Are you a fan of Calvin and Hobbes? (Who isn’t?)

For the first time ever, Calvin and his stuffed tiger legally appear on something other than a book. In July, the United States Postal Service released a collection of “Sunday Funnies” stamps . Ironically, the Calvin stamp is included with several long running comics that haven’t known when to leave the party.

Archie first appeared in 1946, Beetle Bailey in 1950, Dennis the Menace in 1951 and Garfield in 1978. All are still being published, even if the original creator has passed away or is only marginally involved. In stark contrast, Bill Watterson drew every panel of Calvin and Hobbes and it only ran from 1985 to 1995. As a children’s librarian, I can tell you that Calvin isn’t going away anytime soon. In fact, it’s probably the most popular series at our library… not just counting comics.

In 2006, Andrews McMeel released a beautiful three volume set called The Complete Calvin and Hobbes. I’ve never read it. Do you know why? Because it contains every single strip. If I don’t read it, there’s always a possibility that I’ll find one more book or one more strip I haven’t read.

Check out this interview with cartoonist Bill Watterson, his first in over 20 years. I have a lot of respect for him for never allowing his characters to be commercially licensed. Also, I think he makes a valid point in the article about knowing when to walk away.

Have you read every Calvin and Hobbes strip and wish there were more? Take a look at Frazz, currently in the newspapers. It’s got a similar philosophy and sense of humor that Calvin does, with its own quirks thrown in. It’s one of my favorite comic strips.

Originally posted at Wizards Wireless.

2 responses to “Calvin and Hobbes postage stamp

  1. I have been a Calvin and Hobbes my entire life. As a kid my room was filled with cut outs from the newspaper since Bill Watterson never created any merchandise for his comic strip. I was always on the lookout for my own stuffed Hobbes or posters or action figures to play with, but to no avail. Mr. Watterson inspired me to create my own web comic and every time I complete a strip I remember what he taught me when reading his comic strips. I Seeing that they have finally created something with Calvin and Hobbes other than collection of their comic strips, I feel like I finally have some closure.

    • I agree, it’s very inspiring to see Bill Watterson get recognition for his wonderful comic strip. How terrific that Calvin inspired you to create your own strip. It looks great. Best of luck in Arizona… ironically I had a similar experience of feeling out of place when I went to Boston for college.

Leave a Reply

